Current Project: 1770s Men’s Set

I’ve been slow getting going on new projects this year. The first thing that I’m trying to make this year is an 18th Century menswear set. I’m using the J.P. Ryan Frock Coat pattern and the Mill Farm Breeches and Waistcoat pattern. I picked up a dark green wool worsted and a navy linsey woolsey from Burnley & Trowbridge, plus some linen to line both the waistcoat and frock coat.

So far I’ve gotten the bulk of the waistcoat done, except for the buttons. I also had to dramatically redraft the frock coat pattern to alter it down to my size, which I will try to remember to detail in a later post.

011v2

013v2

I was nervous about doing the pockets, but I actually had a lot of fun with them, and the instructions are very easy to follow.

18thcentvest

So it’s taken me a while to get going, and I’m still nervous that even after fitting mockups, the fit of the finished garments are going to be off, but I’m going to keep plugging away at this.

Leave a Reply

